Grizzlies receive 25 all-conference selections

Grizzlies receive 25 all-conference selections

The 2012 KJCCC All-Conference Football Team has been announced the Grizzlies received 25 selections.  Butler has 10 on the first team, six on the second team and nine honorable mention selections. The 10 first team selections are the most in the conference and are four more than Hutchinson who has the second most selections with six. 

The first team offense features standout running back Dreamius Smith, wide receiver Javess Blue, tight end Eric Ostgren, tackle John McClure, guard Reed Bergstrom and center Zac Burkhart.

On defensive side of the ball linebacker Tommy Sanders, defensive end Tim McGaha, safety Tate Omli, and cornerback Marcus Dillard earned first team selections.

The second team selections for the Grizzlies include quarterback Billy Cosh, fullback Terrance Allen and guard Tyler Hutchinson on offense. Linebacker Blake Bean was the lone defensive player for the Grizzlies on the second team.

Butler also had two players make the second team for their efforts on special teams. Return specialist/wide receiver Javess Blue was the only Grizzly to be selected at two different positions with his second team selection. Field goal kicker Robert Rawlings also earned second team for his efforts.

The nine Grizzlies who received honorable mention include four offensive players, four defensive players and one from special teams.

Offensively Butler running back Derrick Thomas, tackle Jessie Ingle and wide receivers Chris Fields and Jacob Hurla received honorable mention.

Defensively for the Grizzlies linebacker Rahman Swain, defensive tackle Owen Williams, safety Max Martinez and cornerback Torrel Saffold received honors.

The only Grizzly to make honorable mention on special teams is punter Ty Suggs. Suggs became the third Butler special teams player recognized on the 2012 team.