Williams earns KJCCC Defensive Player of the Year honors

Williams earns KJCCC Defensive Player of the Year honors

The Butler football team has had 18 of its players selected to the 2013 All-Jayhawk Conference teams, including tackle Owen Williams being named the KJCCC Defensive Player of the Year.

Williams was a force on the defensive line for the Grizzlies, recording 39 tackles, 26 of which were solo stops. He had 14.5 tackles for loss, including seven sacks and also a forced fumble for Butler. He becomes the fifth Butler player to earn that honor under coach Troy Morrell, including Cornellius Carradine (2010), Scott Smith (2009), Markus White (2007), Austin Panter (2006), and Corey Brown (2001).

The 18 players includes eight first-team selections, five second-team selections and five honorable mentions. Butler and Hutch tied for the most players selected all-conference. The Grizzlies had the most first-team picks, three more than both Garden City and Fort Scott, who had five apiece.

Of Butler's eight first-team selections, five were on the offensive side of the ball. They included tight end Steven Walker (10 receptions for 192 yards and two touchdowns), left tackle Luke Hayes, guard Tyler Uselton, center Mateo Kambui and fullback Riley Oharah.

On the defensive side of the ball, safety Branden Dozier (53 tackles, one forced fumble and an interception) joined Williams on the first team. Ty Suggs was named a first-team selection as the punter, averaging 39 yards per kick with 17 punts dropped inside the 20.

The second-team selections included defensive end Gabe Luna, linebackers Phillip Williamson and Nick Cook, safety Darrin Reddick and kicker Robert Rawlings.

Quarterback Hunter Vaughn, receivers Trey Hallman and Michael Glatczak, defensive end Trent Taylor and linebacker Tyler Hayes were honorable mention selections.

CLICK HERE for complete All-Jayhawk Conference selections list