Butler sends another 11 players to NCAA football programs

The Butler football team has sent another 11 players on to NCAA football programs, including five who have signed with programs from Bowl Championship Series (BCS) conferences.

The first 11 signed on Tuesday. More players from the 2010 Butler team, which went 11-1 and won Jayhawk Conference and Region VI championships, will sign during the traditional signing period in February.

"This signing class is deep in talent, as evidenced by the success Butler football experienced on the field this season," head coach Troy Morrell said. "I anticipate they will perform well at the next level and we wish them well as they pursue this next step in their lives and playing careers."

Among those moving on is quarterback Zach Mettenberger. The 2010 Region VI Offensive Player of the Year will play the final three years of his collegiate career at Louisiana State after throwing for 2,878 yards and a school-record 34 touchdowns for the Grizzlies this season. Butler has now had its players transfer to each school in the SEC, with the exception of Alabama and Vanderbilt.

Region VI Defensive Player of the Year Cornellius Carradine picked Florida State from a wide array of offers including Alabama, Ohio State and Georgia. The sophomore from Cincinnati, Ohio will have a chance to replace the graduating Markus White, another former Butler player, in the Seminoles' starting lineup.

Carradine isn't the only Butler defensive end signing with a BCS program. Wichita native Ian Knight will play in the new Pac 12 Conference next year with Washington State.

Butler will have two wide receivers transferring to Division I programs. Sophomore Marcus Kennard, who had 45 catches for 893 yards and 13 touchdowns during the 2010 season, will play at Texas Tech. Fellow sophomore Brett Soft has signed with Central Arkansas. A third receiver, Craig Rosenstangle, is headed to Emporia State along with quarterback Craig Gilmore.

Two of Butler's defensive backs have also signed with Division I programs. Safety Angelo Hadley will transfer to South Florida of the Big East Conference, while Victor Daniels will be a Racer at Murray State.

On the offensive line, Lamar Mady will play at Youngstown State and Ryan Schraeder will play at Valdosta State.

The list of transfers is as follows:
Zach Mettenberger (Watkinsville, Ga) Louisiana State University
Cornellius Carradine (Cincinnati, Ohio) Florida State University
Marcus Kennard (Lawton, Okla.) Texas Tech University
Ian Knight (Wichita, Kan.) Washington State University
Angelo Hadley (Thonotosassa, FL) University of South Florida
Victor Daniels (Waycross, Ga.) Murray State University
Lamar Mady (Topeka, Kan.) Youngstown State University
Brett Soft (Wichita, Kan.) University of Central Arkansas
Ryan Schraeder (Wichita, Kan.) Valdosta State University
Craig Gilmore (Chanute, Kan.) Emporia State University
Craig Rosenstangle (Lawrence, Kan.) Emporia State University