Butler football now has 20 commits to NCAA DI programs

Butler football now has 20 commits to NCAA DI programs

EL DORADO, Kan. – Butler football has now had a total of 20 players signing on to NCAA Division I football programs, with five more officially committing today during the 2015 national signing day.

The list includes four players going to the Big 12 Conference, two players going to the Southeastern Conference, two to the Pac-12 as well as others joining programs in the Mountain West, Sun Belt, Southland, and the Conference USA.

The sophomores leave after compiling a record of 17-5 over the past two seasons with Jayhawk Conference and Region VI playoff championships in 2013. They were ranked in the national poll each week during their two-year career.

Butler has had at least 14 players transfer to NCAA football programs following each season since 1998. The Grizzlies, who have a record of 177-23 while winning 14 conference titles and five national championships in that 17-year span, have had former players transfer to programs including LSU, Florida, Michigan, Oregon, Oklahoma, Nebraska, South Carolina and Georgia. Three former Grizzlies have played in BCS national title games since 2001.


Tyler Howell - Missouri

Ulric Jones - South Carolina

Matthew Kellerman - Oklahoma State

Chris Carson - Oklahoma State

Antwan Hadley - Oklahoma State

William Smith - Kansas

Davon Durant - Arizona State

Afolabi Laguda - Colorado

Kameron Miles - Boise State

Brian Ochs - North Texas

Toby Omli - Murray State

Colin Frickey - Murray State

Daniel Jensen - Tennesee-Martin

Derek Lee - Bowling Green

Brady Moore - Central Arkansas

Joel Blumenthal - Northwestern State

Damarcus Smith - North Texas

Kaleb Ringer - Georgia State

Vontrell Williams - Texas-San Antonio

Kwamane Bowens - Texas State